什么,为什么和如何–抗病毒涂料/添加剂的技术和市场

  • 首页
  • 什么,为什么和如何–抗病毒涂料/添加剂的技术和市场





随着世界为应对COVID-19的影响以及对第二波和第三波流感大流行的担忧而战,涂料和涂料制造商,研究人员和其他利益相关者正在探索抗病毒,抗菌表面涂料,以试图防止进一步的传播这种疾病。最近的研究表明,冠状病毒可以在金属,玻璃和其他表面上长时间停留,具体取决于各种因素,例如温度,表面材料,病毒的特定菌株等。尽管病毒需要活的宿主繁殖和繁殖,但间接主要关注点是通过受污染的表面与病毒接触。 

这是冠状病毒在各种表面上的存活时间:

《 COVID唤醒》中的研究计划快照19

  • 香港一所大学的研究人员开发了一种称为MAP-1的抗病毒涂层,该涂层包含封装的抗病毒剂,其稳定性约为90天。用于封装的聚合物是热敏性的,在遇到任何人类时都会破裂。它可以用于电梯按钮和扶手。

  • 英国工作服制造商Wearwell已开始制造Virustatic Shield护罩,这是一种新颖的创新产品,据说可以提供保护,免受冠状病毒的侵害。经过十年的研究,该产品使用了由Pincroft(Carrington Textiles)提供并由Virustatic与英国生物化学家团队合作开发的专利抗病毒织物。
  • 美国科技公司立邦涂料和康宁公司已经开发出一种特殊的涂料“ Nippon Antivirus Kid's Paint”,以防止工人从涂料表面上吸收病毒。该涂料是专门为医院和医疗环境开发的。通过减少涂漆表面上的病毒感染的风险,这提供了额外的保护层,特别是对于不断暴露于该表面的医疗保健人员和重要工作人员而言。

      

  • 印度总理学院 IIT-Delhi, 印度已制成纳米涂料 基于抗病毒的银化合物。适用于防Covid-19三层医用口罩和N95防毒面具。该项目是在纳米任务项目下开发的,将与两个工业合作伙伴一起进行升级工作 班加罗尔的Resil Chemicals Pvt Ltd和新德里的Nanoclean Global PvtLtd。

     

  • 为了保护医护人员和公民免受冠状病毒的侵害,印度技术学院(IIT)的一组研究人员对Guwahati开发了一种价格合理的抗菌喷雾基涂料,用于个人防护设备(PPE)套件,以杀死和防止扩散一旦微生物与涂覆的PPE表面接触,就会产生大量细菌。该组合物包含纳米粒子混合物,例如铜,银和其他活性成分。

抗病毒表面涂层的IP趋势

日本是三菱化学,日本涂料,住友化学等世界领先涂料/化学工业的基地。这可能是日本在抗病毒涂料领域申请专利的首选管辖区,其次是日本。美国。中国名列第三。亚洲国家在该领域的统治地位可能是由于亚洲涂料和特种化学工业研发基础的显着增强。

国家 独特的应用
日本 169
美国 1126
中国 91
欧洲 66
韩国 56
澳大利亚 42
加拿大 36
德国 28
巴西 19
台湾 19

Map Description automatically generated

利用抗病毒涂料的最终用户应用 

建筑物/家庭应用是抗病毒和抗菌涂料应用的领先之一。在此部分中,建筑物的内/外墙,地板,窗户,门,把手,浴室及其配件已被覆盖。 

该图表明,要求抗病毒涂层/薄膜的各种专利申请已努力覆盖几乎所有类型的表面。纺织品是抗病毒涂层的第二大应用领域,其中化合物已与机织/非织造材料的纤维混合在一起。

抗病毒涂料领域的一些机会领域:

  • 天然抗病毒药

对于食品包装,创建抗病毒涂层或薄膜是一项挑战,因为最常见的试剂(例如金属氧化物)可能会产生毒性。 绿茶提取物 已显示具有抗病毒特性。此外,绿茶可以很容易地与生物聚合物如壳聚糖或PHB混合在一起,以制成生物基包装。其他天然药物,例如 单月桂酸酯 存在于椰奶和  适当的 油酸 还已知具有抗病毒特性。

  • 封装抗病毒涂层

使用生物基聚合物的封装抗病毒涂层剂可以替代纳米颗粒。以这种方式,它将减少生态毒性,同时有助于从核心控制释放抗病毒剂。封装壳可以设计为根据不同的参数(例如触摸,热变化等)操纵释放。

  • 碳纳米材料

石墨烯 在化学工业的过去十年中发挥了革命性的作用。氧化石墨烯(GO)纳米片由于具有二维形状,锋利的边缘和带负电荷的表面,因此能够通过破坏其质膜或通过产生活性氧来引起氧化应激,从而与诸如细菌和病毒的微生物相互作用并杀死它们。同样地, 富勒烯 也可以用于相同的目的

  • 硅基化合物

聚二甲基硅氧烷(PDMS) 也是另一种很少被探索的化合物。它的光谱范围广,可以抑制细菌,霉菌和病毒接触。该系统可作为自铺展性化合物或涂料聚合物的添加剂使用,可清洁任何表面,包括风道,地板,墙壁,天花板,衣物,户外装备,电子元件,公共交通表面,食品准备区,医疗设施和更多。

抗病毒涂料的未来前景和需求

COVID-`19已引起人们对抗病毒和抗菌涂层的极大兴趣。人们对于触摸任何可能会传播的包装物品,门把手和其他表面保持谨慎。

抗病毒添加剂可以为这些物品增加杀虫性能,并可以显着降低基于表面的病毒传播。来自各个领域的需求不断增长,例如医疗保健和医学抗病毒聚合物。抗病毒聚合物具有高防御活性,硬度,耐久性和透明性等特性,可用于无毒塑料设备。随着医院获得性感染的增加,通气孔中使用了防感染添加剂,以防止传染病的传播。

展望未来,对抗病毒和抗菌涂层的需求将继续增长,因为重点将放在确保安全和无菌的环境上,以防止另一场全球性大流行的可能性。 

那么抗病毒涂料行业的前景如何呢?目前正在发生什么?可以预测的趋势是什么?

经过详细的研究和分析,才能得出上述类似问题的答案。 

我们在TTC进行了一项市场研究,并在本报告中纳入了我们的理解。在这里查看。

下载技术和市场情报报告抗病毒添加剂/涂料

合著者:Ranjit Singh和Arthi Jeevanand 

作者姓名:

Punit Talwar



与TT顾问联系

联系我们

What, Why and How – Technology & Market of Antiviral Coatings/Additives

  • Home
  • What, Why and How – Technology & Market of Antiviral Coatings/Additives





As the world grapples with the impact of COVID-19 and with fears of second and third waves of the pandemic, antiviral, antimicrobial surface coatings are being explored by paint and coatings manufacturers, researchers, and other stakeholders in order to try prevention of further transmission of the disease. Recent studies have shown that Coronaviruses can stay on metal, glass and other surfaces for a long time depending on various factors like temperature, surface material, the specific strain of the virus etc. While the virus requires a living host to reproduce and thrive, indirect contact with the virus via contaminated surfaces is a major point of concern. 

Here is the survival span of Coronavirus on various surfaces:

Snapshots of Research Initiatives  in Wake of COVID19

  • Researchers at a Hong Kong university have developed an antiviral coating called MAP-1 that comprises encapsulated antiviral agents which have the stability of around 90 days. The polymer used for encapsulation is heat-sensitive and ruptures whenever it meets any human being. It can be used for elevator buttons and handrails.

  • British workwear manufacturer, Wearwell has begun making Virustatic Shield snoods, a new and innovative product which is said to provide protection from the coronavirus. The product uses a patented anti-viral fabric, supplied by Pincroft (Carrington Textiles) and developed by Virustatic, in association with a team of UK biochemists, following a decade of research.
  • Nippon Paint and Corning Inc, the US-based technology company, have developed a special coating ‘Nippon Antivirus Kid’s Paint’, to protect workers from picking up viruses from painted surfaces. The coating was developed specifically for hospitals and health care environments. This offers an additional layer of protection by reducing the risk of infection from viruses on painted surfaces, especially for health care and essential workers who are constantly exposed to it.

      

  • Premier Indian institute IIT-Delhi, India has made nano-coating based on silver compounds against viruses. It is applicable for anti-Covid-19 three-layer medical masks and N95 respirator. This was developed under the nano mission project and will be carrying out the upscaling work in association with two industrial partner Resil Chemicals Pvt Ltd in Bengaluru and Nanoclean Global Pvt Ltd in New Delhi.

     

  • In an attempt to safeguard health care workers and citizens from coronavirus, a team of researchers at Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati has developed an affordable antimicrobial spray-based coating for Personal Protection Equipment’s (PPE) kits to kill and prevent the spread of microbes once they come in contact with the coated PPE surface. The composition comprises nanoparticle cocktail, such as copper, silver and other active ingredients.

IP Trend in Antiviral Surface Coatings

Japan is the base for a few of the worlds leading coating/chemical industries like MITSUBISHI CHEMICAL, NIPPON PAINT, SUMITOMO CHEMICAL etc. That might be the reason that Japan is the most preferred jurisdiction for patent filing in the domain of antiviral coating followed by the United States. China stands third in the list. The domination of Asian countries in the domain might be due to significant enhancement in the R&D base of coating & speciality chemical industries within Asia.

Country Unique Applications
Japan 169
United States 1126
China 91
Europe 66
Korea 56
Australia 42
Canada 36
Germany 28
Brazil 19
Taiwan 19

Map Description automatically generated

End-User Applications utilizing Antiviral Coatings 

Building/Household applications are the leading one of the antiviral and antimicrobial coating applications. Within this segment, building(s) interior/exterior walls, floors, windows, doors, handles, bathroom, and its accessories have been covered. 

The figure indicates that an effort was made to cover almost all kind of surfaces through by various patent applications claiming antiviral coatings/films. Textile is the second-largest application area for antiviral coating in which the compounds have been mixed with fibres of woven/non-woven material.

Some opportunity areas in the antiviral coatings space:

  • Natural Antiviral Agents

For food packaging, creating an antiviral coating or film is a challenge because most commonly known agents such as metal oxides may incur toxicity. Green tea extract has been shown to have antiviral property. Moreover, green tea can be easily mingled with biopolymers like chitosan or PHB in order to create bio-based packaging. Other natural agents like monolaurin present in coconut milk and  aliginate oleic acid are also known to have antiviral properties.

  • Encapsulated antiviral coating

Encapsulated antiviral coating agent using biobased polymers can be a good alternative to nanoparticles. In this manner, it will reduce ecotoxicity and at the same time will be helpful in controlled release of antiviral agents from the core. Encapsulation shell can be designed to manipulate the release based on different parameter like touch, thermal changes etc.

  • Carbon Nanomaterials

Graphene has played a revolutionary role in the last decade within the chemical industry. Graphene oxide (GO) nanosheets are capable of interacting with and killing microorganisms such as bacteria and viruses by disrupting their plasma membrane or by producing reactive oxygen species to cause oxidative stress, due to their two-dimensional shape, sharp edges, and negatively charged surfaces. In the same way, fullerene can be also utilized for the same purpose

  • Silicon-Based Compounds

Polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) is also another compound which is quite less explored. It is broad-spectrum and can inhibit bacteria, molds, and viruses on contact. Available as a self-spreading compound or additive to a coating polymer, the system can clean any surface including air ducts, floors, walls, ceilings, clothing, outdoor gear, electronic components, public transportation surfaces, food preparation areas, medical facilities, and more.

Future perspective & demand for antiviral coatings

COVID – `19 has triggered immense interest in antiviral and antimicrobial coatings. People are cautious about touching any packaged article, door handles, and other surfaces where there could be a risk of transmission.

Antiviral additives can add a viricidal property to these articles and can reduce surface-based viral transmission significantly. There is increasing demand from various sectors such as healthcare and medical antiviral polymers. Antiviral polymers possess properties such as high defence activity, hardness, durability, and transparency and they are used in non-toxic plastic equipment. With the rise in hospital-acquired infections, infection proof additives are being used in air vents to prevent the transfer of communicable diseases.

Going forward, the demand for antiviral and antimicrobial coatings will continue to grow as the focus would be towards ensuring safe and sterile environments to hinder the possibility of another global pandemic. 

So how promising is the antiviral coating industry, what are the current happenings and what can be the predicted trends?

Answers to a few of the above questions like these can be derived after detailed research and analysis. 

We at TTC conducted a market study and have complied our understanding in this report. Check it out here.

Download Technology and Market Intelligence Report Antiviral Additives/coating

Co-authors: Ranjit Singh and Arthi Jeevanand 

Author Name :

Punit Talwar



Connect With TT Consultants

Contact Us