用反策略对付诉讼:在投资组合中探查或挖掘专利

  • 首页
  • 用反策略对付诉讼:在投资组合中探查或挖掘专利





当您遇到来自竞争对手或公司专利主张者的数百万美元的专利诉讼时,您想到的是关于经典老诉讼案件的解决方案?嗯,有一个经典的解决方案, 无效搜索. 但是,我们是否只满足于“古老就是黄金”的说法,还是做出一个更明智的决定来考虑其他选择?总有停止销售/生产心爱但侵权产品的选择。但是我们不希望这种情况发生。

现在有人会说,嘿!我总是可以走许可道路。

现在,让我们问自己另一个厚脸皮的问题,那是我颤抖的最后一个箭头吗?好吧,您是否考虑过专利组合中隐藏的宝石来对主张者提起诉讼?

采取反驳断言之路总是有助于在战斗中获得优势。反断言是在您的专利组合中识别可映射到断言者产品的潜在相关专利的过程。因此,除了使声明者的专利无效之外,您还可以明智地发挥它的作用。

我们根据客户的要求遵循4步方法进行反断言。

步骤1:分析Asserter的产品:

我们对断言者产品的产品线进行了广泛的研究,获得了对产品的深入了解,并维护了向产品中添加某些功能或产品何时首次发布的时间表。我们还寻找产品的收入,并确定高收入产品。

步骤2:专利组合分析:

对产品的深入了解有助于我们确定被告产品组合中有价值的专利。带来大量绿色账单的产品线始终是首要重点。相应地,专利在辩护人的产品组合中的相关性也进行了排名。我们会根据侵权可能性和参数(例如专利的优先权日期,专利的领域,要求的长度,要求的范围,权利的范围,剩余寿命等)将专利分类为高,中和低。除了手动搜索外,我们还使用内部自动XLPAT工具对专利进行排名。

步骤3:详细侵权分析:

我们针对断言者的产品对入围的高类别专利进行了详细的分析(有时根据客户的要求,我们也对中类别专利进行了分析)。分析包括研究专利说明书,起诉历史,在产品说明书中识别专利要求的每个要素等。

步骤4:索取图表:

在对高级专利进行了详细的分析之后,我们提供了针对这些高级专利的索赔表,这些专利的索赔的每个要素都可以映射,并且可以起诉断言者的产品。 

结论:

了解您在相关领域的宝贵专利总是有好处的。像我们这样的搜索公司进行的精心设计的研究,可以帮助专利组合持有人识别出隐藏的宝石,从而以一种美丽的方式帮助他们。 

作者姓名:

Sanket Thakur



与TT顾问联系

联系我们

Combating litigations with a counter-strategy: scouting or mining patents within a portfolio

  • Home
  • Combating litigations with a counter-strategy: scouting or mining patents within a portfolio





What is the solution that comes to your mind about a classic old litigation case when you hit with million-dollar patent litigation from your competitor or a corporate patent asserter? Well, there is one classic solution, invalidation search. But do we only satisfy ourselves with the saying “old is gold”, or make a smarter decision to consider the other options as well? There is always an option to stop selling/making the beloved but infringed products. But we do not want that to happen.

Now some would say, Hey! I can always take the Licensing road.

Now, let us ask ourselves another cheeky question, was that the last arrow in my quiver? Well, have you thought about the hidden gems in your patent portfolio to counter sue the asserter?

Taking a road to counter assertion always helps to gain an edge in the battle. The counter assertion is the process of identify the potentially relevant patents in your patent portfolio which are mappable to the asserter’s products. So, apart from invalidating the asserter’s patent, you can play it smart.

We follow 4-step approach for counter assertion according to the client’s requirements.

Step 1: Analyze the Asserter’s Products:

We do extensive research on the product lines of the asserter’s products, gain in-depth knowledge of products, and maintain a timeline of when the certain features are added to the product or when the products initially released. We also look for the revenue of the products and identify the high revenue products.

Step 2: Patent Portfolio Analysis:

In-depth knowledge of the products helps us in targeting the valuable patents in the defendant’s portfolio. The product lines that bring in the great deal of green bills are kept in the prime focus. The relevance of the patents in the defender’s portfolio is ranked accordingly. we categorize the patents to high, medium, and low based on infringement potential and parameters such as priority date of the patent, domain of the patent, claim length, claim broadness, remaining life and many more. In addition to the manual search, we also use automated in-house XLPAT tools for ranking the patents.

Step 3: Detailed Infringement Analysis:

We do a detailed analysis of shortlisted high category patents (sometime as per client’s requirement we also do analysis of the medium category patents) with respect to the asserter’s products. The analysis includes studying patent specification, prosecution history, identifying each elements of the patent’s claim in the product specifications and the like.

Step 4: Claim Charting:

After performing the detailed analysis of the high category patents, we provide the claim charts for those high category patents for which each elements of the claim are mappable and could sue the asserter’s products. 

Conclusion:

It is always advantageous to know your valuable patents in the relevant domain. The well-crafted research done by the search firms like us can aid the patent portfolio holder to identify the hidden gems which could assist them in a beautiful manner. 

Author Name :

Sanket Thakur



Connect With TT Consultants

Contact Us