也要食用食品和包装–食用食品包装

  • 首页
  • 也要食用食品和包装–食用食品包装





欧盟委员会通过的《循环经济行动计划》促使企业优先考虑以可生物降解,可重复使用或可回收包装为重点的包装解决方案。公司正在努力减少过度包装,将可食用包装用于食品等作为使自己适应可持续发展要求的方法。事实证明,消费者对塑料包装的看法发生了重大消极变化,这对于增加人们对绿色替代品的兴趣也至关重要。

当前正在使用的合成包装材料是从化石燃料中提取的,这引起了全球对不可再生能源快速消耗的关注。食品包装是塑料材料行业的重要组成部分,制造的塑料总量中有37%以上用于食品相关应用。未来几年,包装公司,零售商,消费者和政府组织的整个包装生态系统都将迎来传统食品包装方法价值链的根本变化。

预计在食品中使用可生物降解包装材料的前景广阔,因为可食用/可生物降解包装将根据独特的包装规格为食品提供天然安全性。食品制造商要求包装材料必须为食品级,并在降低废物流和运营成本的同时,积极影响食品的保质期和安全性。

食用包装材料分类 

 

  

食用包装是一种薄膜或涂层,其形式为可食用材料的连续层,可以位于食品成分之上或之中,这些食品成分可以作为整个食品的一部分消费。除动物和微生物来源外,植物来源的材料(如纤维素,淀粉等)已主要用于食用包装。食用包装已用于各种场合,包括新鲜食品,含酒精和不含酒精的饮料以及药品。

技术见解和数据分析

 
 


多糖(例如淀粉或纤维素)是制造可食用包装的最广泛使用的来源,因为与蛋白质或脂质基材料相比,原材料容易获得,环境稳定性更好且成本更低。

就原料来源而言,由于大多数多糖均来自植物,因此与动物或微生物来源相比,由于其丰富和高生物量含量,它们是主要的原料来源。在此,基于植物的材料还包括藻类来源。

食用包装主要是在诸如肉,乳制品,水果等新鲜食品的背景下以薄膜形式讨论的,随后是制药和饮料工业。在制药领域,它主要用作医药产品和药品的保护套。由于用途广泛和稳定性更高,薄膜是最常见的食用包装形式。

中国,美国和EP是该领域中申请专利最多的国家/地区。

授予这些结果的41%全球申请,表示对相关市场中的有效(Alive)专利进行了保护。

该结果集的59%正在等待应用程序。较高的应用程序百分比指向一个新的或成长中的市场,而较低的应用程序百分比可以指向已经建立的市场或低增长区域。

 

就市场上的产品而言,几种解决方案已经商业化。

Notpla是一种革命性的水囊,其中的外壳由海藻和植物制成。如果用户不选择与水一起食用,它会在数周内自然降解。

Loliware是一家位于纽约的初创公司,它将海藻中的藻酸盐和红藻中的琼脂转化为调味的稻草,这些稻草一旦弄湿就不会浸湿并在一天内保持类似塑料的质地。您可以选择消耗它们,否则,它们将在2个月内在环境中降解。根据。据报道,万豪酒店和保乐力加(Pernod Ricard)去年根据支持电子烟的整个行业趋势开始使用吸管。o友好的塑料替代品。

市场见解

由于终端用户的需求旺盛以及原材料的容易获得,亚太地区预计将以更高的速度增长。

北美占有食用包装的主要市场份额。  

到2020年,全球食用包装市场规模估计为7.276亿美元。CAGR增长估计为6.2%,到2025年,市场价值将超过10亿美元。

食用包装的局限性和解决方案

 

物理性能差是可食用包装的广泛采用的主要问题之一。基于脂质的薄膜具有良好的防潮性能,但缺乏机械强度。

层压结构具有通过工程化具有多个功能层的薄膜来克服不同缺点(例如机械强度)的潜力。脂质具有良好的水分屏障,蛋白质具有良好的强度。乳剂或双层中蛋白质和脂质的结合可以提供更好的性能。研究可能来自自然界或可以化学合成的新型食品级聚合物,可以进一步为克服现有挑战提供希望。

解决地址的另一个限制是顾客不愿吃传统上丢弃的东西。公司可以通过提高包装的营养价值来遵循这种思维方式。酪蛋白薄膜因其高蛋白价值而可以销售,这对于消费者添加饮食具有吸引力。长期储存和运输会带来湿度和温度控制等问题,可食用包装可能需要额外的外壳。该覆盖物的材料也可以是堆肥的或可持续的。食用包装可能是减少塑料消耗的重要步骤-消费者是否食用食用包装。具有高度可降解性,它是一次性塑料甚至生物塑料的更清洁替代品。

 

 下载食用包装:技术和市场情报报告

 

作者姓名:

管理员



与TT顾问联系

联系我们

Eat the Food and Packaging too – Edible Food Packaging

  • Home
  • Eat the Food and Packaging too – Edible Food Packaging





The circular economy Action Plan adopted by the European Commission has spurred corporations to prioritize ways to implement packaging solutions focusing on biodegradable, reusable or recyclable packaging. Companies are working towards reducing overpacking, usage of edible packaging for food products etc. as methods to align themselves to the sustainability mandate. The significant negative shift of consumer perception towards plastic-based packaging also proved to be a vital role in increased interest towards greener alternatives.

The synthetic packaging material currently in play is derived from fossil fuels which adds to the global concern of fast depletion of non-renewable energy sources. Food packaging is a significant part in the plastic materials industry, with more than 37% of the total plastic manufactured being utilized for food related applications. In coming years, the entire packaging ecosystem from packaging companies, retailers, consumers and government organizations are poised to usher in a fundamental change in the value chain of traditional methods of food packaging.

Use of biodegradable packaging materials in foods is anticipated to have a promising future, as edible / biodegradable packaging will provide foods with natural security in compliance with unique packaging specifications. Food manufacturers require packaging materials to be food grade, as well as positively impact the shelf life & safety of food products while reducing waste streams and operating costs.

Edible Packaging Material Classification 

 

  

Edible Packaging is a film or coating which is in the form of a continuous layer of edible material that can be on or between food components which can be consumed as a part of the whole food product. Plant derived materials like cellulose, starch etc. have been mainly used for edible packaging apart from animal and microbial derived sources. Edible packaging has been used for a variety of applications fresh foods, alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, and pharmaceuticals.

Technical insights & Data Analytics

 
 


Polysaccharides (such as starch or cellulose) are the most widely used sources for making edible packaging because of easy availability of raw materials, better environmental stability and less cost when compared to protein or lipid-based materials.

In terms of raw material sources, since most polysaccharides are derived from plants, they are the major material source when compared to animal or microbial sources due to abundancy and high biomass content. Herein, plant-based material also includes algal sources.

Edible packaging has been mostly discussed in context of fresh foods such as meat, dairy products, fruits etc. in the form of films followed by pharmaceutical applications and beverage industry. In pharma sector, it is primarily used as protecting sheath for medicinal products and drugs. Films are the most common edible packaging form due to wide usage and greater stability.

China, US, and EP are the top patent filing countries / regions in the domain.

41% of worldwide filings in these results are granted, which indicates protection for active (Alive) patents in the relevant markets.

59% of this result set is pending applications. Higher percentages of applications point to a new or growing market, whereas lower application rates can point to already established markets or low growth areas.

 

In terms of products in the market, several solutions have been commercialized.

Notpla is a revolutionary capsule encasing water, in which the outer covering is made from seaweed and plants. It biodegrades in weeks naturally in case users do not choose to consume it along with the water.

Loliware is a New York based startup which is turning alginate from seaweed and agar from red algae into flavored straws that do not get soggy & retain a texture like plastic for a day once they become wet. You can choose to consume them, and if not, they will degrade in the environment within 2 months. according. Marriott Hotels and Pernod Ricard reportedly started using the straws last year in accordance with the industry wide trends of supporting eco-friendly alternatives to plastic.

Market insights

Asia pacific is expected to grow at higher rate due to high demand at end user side and easy availability of raw materials.

North America holds the major market share for edible packaging.  

The global edible packaging market size was estimated to be USD 727.6 million in 2020. The CAGR growth is estimated to be 6.2%, propelling the market to be valued at more than 1Bn USD in 2025.

Limitations in edible packaging & solutions to overcome them

 

Inferior physical properties are one of the major concerns to widespread adoption of edible packaging. Lipid based films have good moisture repelling properties but lack mechanical strength.

Laminated structures have the potential to overcome different shortcomings (like mechanical strength) by engineering films with multiple functional layers. Lipid has good moisture barrier and protein has good strength. Combining proteins and lipids in emulsion or bilayer can provide better properties. Working on novel food grade polymers that may come from nature or can be chemically synthesized can further provide hope for overcoming existing challenges.

Another limitation to address would be the hesitance of the customer to eat something that is traditionally discarded. Companies can maneuver around this mindset by promoting the nutritional value of the packaging. Casein films can be marketed for their high protein value which would be attractive for a consumer to add to their diet. Long term storage and transport would bring up issues like moisture and temperature control, for which edible packaging may need an additional outer cover. The material for this cover could also be compostable or sustainable. Edible packaging could be an important step to reduce plastic consumption – whether consumers eat the edible packaging. Being hyper-degradable, it is a cleaner alternative to single use plastics or even bioplastics.

 

 Download Edible Packaging: Technology & Market Intelligence Report

 

Author Name :

admin



Connect With TT Consultants

Contact Us