导航到自动驾驶汽车的未来

  • 首页
  • 导航到自动驾驶汽车的未来





无人驾驶汽车正在新闻中巡回演出。随着技术的进步,有可能我们很快就会看到一些新产品。 

尽管无人驾驶汽车在模拟测试和试验中取得了可圈可点的结果,但要在现实世界中复制成功仍然是一项挑战,因为在现实世界中,它们必须与其他车辆,行人以及周围环境中的其他变量所引起的不可预测的情况进行交互。

而无缝,安全地浏览这些仍然是一个值得关注的问题。 

当遇到多个车道和交叉路口时,这种情况很有可能发生,安全导航变得更加困难。

因此,为解决此类问题,全球许多地方都见证了激进的研发。 

斯坦福大学最近的一项发展看起来很有希望 

  • 斯坦福大学的LUCIDGames最近创建了一种算法,该算法可以预测和规划自动驾驶汽车的自适应轨迹。该技术使用基于博弈论的算法和估计方法。

LUCIDGames可以快速识别附近汽车和行人的目标。这使他们能够预测这些不同元素在将来甚至复杂情况下的作用。

现在,对于自动驾驶汽车,有一些级别定义了自动驾驶的程度 0级 直到现在我们都已经习惯了传统的汽车。 

该分类法由 SAE国际 这是什么意思 

自动驾驶汽车技术水平

1级: 

巡航或自适应控制是第1级的示例,其中汽车和驾驶员共享控制权。驾驶员负责转向,而自主系统则以预定速度管理油门和制动。停车辅助和车道保持辅助是第1级示例。

2级: 

自动化系统可以完全管理转向,加速和制动,尽管在系统出现故障时驾驶员需要保持待机状态。有传感器可以通过跟踪眼睛的运动来监控驾驶员的注意力。

3级: 

在3级自动化中,汽车可以在大多数情况下自行行驶,并且驾驶员不需要注意驾驶。对于汽车以全自动模式工作时,必须遵守某些设置条件,例如摄像机视图,天气,GPS等。如果不满足这些条件中的任何一个,驾驶员仍然需要进行干预。 

第4级: 

级别4自动化包括甚至可能没有方向盘的智能系统,在这些系统中可能不需要驾驶员保持清醒或能够重新控制。此级别主要适用于满足预定最佳条件的特定区域中的自动出租车或配送系统。

5级

使用5级自动化,汽车将不需要人工监督。它能够在所有地面,天气和情况下导航。虽然已经探索了第4级,但第5级自动化仍然太复杂而难以实施。

那么,当涉及到3级及之后的复杂级别时,状态如何?

好吧,事实证明,在这个领域中确实发生了许多事态发展。 

百度阿波罗 集成的AI系统允许车辆在没有驾驶员的情况下运行。它在其车辆中使用支持5G的遥距操作,以确保不会发生不良事故。

与通用汽车和本田有关联的自动驾驶汽车公司Cruise在旧金山测试没有驾驶员安全的完全无人驾驶汽车。这是其中之一 在繁华的城市的复杂环境中,很少有无人驾驶汽车正在接受测试。

Cruise直到最近才展示其4级功能,而Google(Waymo)宣布将向客户开放其4级出租车服务。克鲁斯最初计划为其商用无人出租车制定2019年的发布日期,但未能交付。

然而,尽管取得了如此先进的发展,安全性仍然是消费者对无人驾驶汽车的接受程度的首要关注。 

车辆配备了复杂的技术,以避免发生事故。多个激光雷达与多个摄像头和雷达一起分布在车辆表面,具有重叠的传感器场。这不仅用于增加车辆路径中障碍物的可见性,而且用于避免盲点。

在无人驾驶汽车领域发生了如此多的事情,但是很明显,IP趋势也可能见证着很多活动。预计许多初创公司也将利用这一空间。此外,该领域正在见证许多跨行业的活动和合作 

2020年,福特成为车辆导航和控制系统最活跃的专利申请者,其后是丰田汽车公司和LG电子公司。 

英特尔计划增加雷达和激光雷达(LIDAR),这是一种基于激光的系统,用于道路3D视图,以在2025年之前提高其自动驾驶技术。

Oxbotica –自主技术的先驱之一,现已从BP,BGF,Halma,腾讯,Venture Science等公司筹集了$47百万的B轮资金。 Oxbotica希望抓住工业公司在采矿业,越野应用中的港口物流等领域的机会。可以将自动驾驶汽车软件插入工业车辆中,以进行车队管理,导航和感知。

高通的Snapdragon汽车5G平台和3rd Snapdragon汽车驾驶舱平台将被整合到NIO的旗舰轿车中。 NIO推出了EP9 –世界上最快的电动汽车之一,现在正利用高通在计算和连接方面的专业知识来改善其智能出行技术。

Velodyne Lidar已与Motional(现代与Aptiv自动驾驶之间的合资企业,用于Alpha Prime传感器的合资企业)签订了多年期合同,为4级自动驾驶汽车提供远程视野。 Velodyne获得专利的360度感知技术可在雨,雪,雨夹雪以及复杂的城市环境中实现自动驾驶。 

的未来 自主性 汽车 导航

安全仍然是汽车制造商和消费者最关注的问题。重点是解决与正常道路状况不同的不太常见的道路情景。 AV上现有的传感器套件仍然不足以应对各种可能性。除了先进的LIDAR,超声波或雷达传感器之外,研究人员还在探索诸如热成像,长波红外热像仪之类的技术。将来,随着我们致力于全自动驾驶汽车,多个FIR传感器将被证明是有用的。

但是,至少属于1级和2级级别的AV车辆有望很快成为现实。 

作者姓名:

TT顾问



与TT顾问联系

联系我们

Navigating Towards an Autonomous Vehicle Future

  • Home
  • Navigating Towards an Autonomous Vehicle Future





Driverless cars are doing the rounds in the news. As technology advances, there are chances that we might see a few on roads soon. 

Though driverless cars have achieved exemplary results in simulation tests & trials, it is still challenging to replicate the success in real-world scenarios where they must interact with unpredictable situations that arise from other vehicles, pedestrians, and various other variables in their surroundings.

And navigating through these seamlessly and safely still remains a point of concern. 

Such scenarios are very much possible when encountering multiple lanes & intersections, it becomes even more difficult to navigate safely.

Hence to address such issues aggressive R&D is being witnessed at many places in the world. 

One of the recent developments by Stanford University looks quite promising 

  • LUCIDGames by Stanford University recently created an algorithm that can predict and plan adaptive trajectories for autonomous vehicles. This technique uses an algorithm based on game theory and an estimation method.

LUCIDGames can quickly identify the objectives of both cars and pedestrians in their vicinity. This allows them to predict what these different elements will do in the future and even in complex situations.

Now when it comes to autonomous vehicles, there are certain levels that define the extent of automation with level 0 being the traditional cars that we are all used to until now. 

This taxonomy is given by SAE international and here is what it means 

Levels of autonomous vehicle technology

Level 1: 

Cruise or adaptive control is an example of level 1 where the car & the driver share control. The driver takes care of steering while the autonomous system manages the throttle and braking at a predetermined speed. Parking assist & lane keep assist are examples of level 1.

Level 2: 

The automated system can fully manage steering, acceleration & braking, though the driver would need to be on standby in case the system fails. There are sensors to monitor the attentivity of the driver by tracking eye movement.

Level 3: 

In level 3 automation the car can drive itself in most scenarios & the driver does not require to pay attention to driving. There are certain set conditions for camera view, weather, GPS, etc. which need to be adhered to for the car to work in fully automated mode. The driver would still need to intervene in case any of these conditions are not met. 

Level 4: 

Level 4 automation comprises intelligent systems that may not even have a steering wheel, where the driver may not be required to be awake or able to retake control. This level would mostly apply to robotized taxi or delivery systems in specific areas where predetermined optimal conditions are met.

Level 5

With level 5 automation a car would require no human supervision. It would be capable of navigating through all surfaces, weather & situations. While level 4 is already being explored, level 5 automation is still too complex to implement.

So what is the status when it comes to complex levels that is level 3 and thereafter?

Well, it turns out there are in fact quite a few developments happening in this space. 

The Baidu Apollo integrated AI system allows vehicles to operate without a driver inside the vehicle. It makes use of 5G-enabled teleoperation in its vehicles for making sure there are no untoward incidences.

Cruise, the self-driving car company associated with GM and Honda, is testing fully driverless cars without a human safety driver behind the steering wheel, in San Francisco. This is one of the few instances of driverless cars being tested in the complex environment of a bustling city.

Cruise has only recently showcased its Level 4 capabilities while Google (Waymo) announced it would be making its Level 4 taxi service accessible to customers. Cruise had originally planned for a 2019 launch date for its commercial driverless taxis, but it failed to deliver.

However, despite such advanced developments, safety remains the prime concern for consumer acceptability of driverless cars. 

Vehicles are being fitted with complex tech to avoid accidents. Multiple LIDARs are distributed over the surface of vehicles along with several cameras & radars to have overlapping sensor fields. This serves not only to increase the visibility of obstacles in the vehicle path but also to avoid blind spots.

With so much happening in the domain of driverless cars, it’s but obvious that IP trends too might be witnessing a lot of activity. And it is expected that many startups too will leverage this space. Further, the domain is witnessing a lot of cross-industry activities and collaborations 

In 2020 Ford was the most active patent filer for vehicle navigation & control systems, followed by Toyota Motor Corp. & LG Electronics Inc. 

Intel plans to add radar and LIDAR, a laser-based system for a 3D view of the road to boost its self-driving tech by 2025.

Oxbotica – one of the pioneers of autonomous tech has now raised $47 million in Series B funding from BP, BGF, Halma, Tencent, Venture Science & others. Oxbotica is looking to seize opportunities in industrial companies for sectors like mining, port logistics in off-road applications. Autonomous vehicle software can be plugged into industrial vehicles for fleet management, navigation, and perception.

Qualcomm’s Snapdragon Automotive 5G Platform & 3rd gen Snapdragon Automotive Cockpit Platform will be incorporated in NIO’s flagship sedan. NIO which launched the EP9 – one of the fastest electric cars in the world is now leveraging Qualcomm’s expertise in computing & connectivity to improve its smart mobility tech.

Velodyne Lidar has signed a multi-year contract with Motional – the joint venture between Hyundai & Aptiv Autonomous Driving for Alpha Prime sensors to provide a long-range vision for Autonomous level 4 vehicles. Velodyne’s patented 360-degree perception tech enables autonomous driving in the rain, snow, sleet as well as complex urban environments. 

Future of Autonomous Vehicles Navigation

Safety remains the topmost concern for automotive manufacturers and consumers. The focus is on solving less common road scenarios different from normal roadway conditions. The existing suite of sensors on AV is still insufficient for dealing with every possibility. Technologies like thermal imaging, longwave IR cameras are being explored by researchers apart from advanced LIDAR, ultrasonic, or radar sensors. Multiple FIR sensors will prove useful as we work towards fully autonomous cars in the future.

However, AV vehicles which at least fall in level categories of 1 and 2 are expected to be a reality soon. 

Author Name :

TT Consultants



Connect With TT Consultants

Contact Us